United States Government Increases Region’s Ability to Generate Improved Climate Data and Information

Back Row: Mr. Keith Gilges, Charges d’Affaires, U.S. Embassy Belize and Dr. Percival Cho, CEO Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, Forestry, the Environment Sustainable Development and Climate Change, Belize. Front Row: Mr. Chistopher Cushing, Mission Director for the U.S. Agency for International

On Monday, December 3, the United States Government handed over approximately US$500,000 in equipment, including a state-of-the-art server; computer work stations; relevant software, and other equipment, to the Belize-based Caribbean Community Climate Change Center (5Cs). The information systems store and process climate related data will be used by decision makers; government policy makers; members of the education fraternity, practitioners in the agriculture, tourism, and health sectors; and other key stakeholders in the region to develop more effective responses to natural disasters and extreme weather events.

This initiative is part of the U.S. Agency for International Development’s (USAID) three-year Climate Change Adaptation Project (CCAP) implemented in partnership with the 5Cs. Signed in July 2016, the goal of the project is to reduce the risk to human and natural assets resulting from climate vulnerability. One component of CCAP focuses on generating increased and improved climate data and information for use by decision makers. The CCAP project has also been building out a network of all-weather stations and coral reef early warning stations throughout the region. The improved network of equipment will assist countries in forecasting and planning for weather events by generating climate data for both land and marine environments that will be stored on the equipment housed at the 5Cs.

The CCAP is implemented across ten countries in the Eastern and Southern Caribbean. The countries are St. Kitts and Nevis; Antigua and Barbuda; Dominica; St. Lucia; Grenada; St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Barbados; Trinidad and Tobago; Guyana; and Suriname.