An official website of the United States government

Diplomatic Corps toast to Barbados’ Independence and Transition to a Parliamentary Republic
December 3, 2021

From left: High Commissioner Scott Furssedonn-Wood (UK), Ambassador Malgorzata Wasilewska (EU), Chief Justice, Dr. the Hon. Sir Richard Cheltenham, Prime Minister, the Hon. Mia Mottley, H.E. President Dame Sandra Mason, Ambassador Linda Taglialatela (US) and High Commissioner Lilian Chatterjee (Canada).

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (2nd December 2021) – Members of the diplomatic corps proudly displayed Barbados’ national colours on Wednesday, December 1st, as the High Commission of Canada, the Delegation of the European Union, the British High Commission and the Embassy of the United States of America hosted a cocktail reception to commemorate Barbados’ 55th anniversary of Independence and the country’s transition to a Parliamentary Republic.

Specially-invited guests, including the President of Barbados, H.E. the Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason and Prime Minister, the Honourable Mia Amor Mottley, joined members of the diplomatic corps, visiting dignitaries, local business leaders and other senior government officials at the Barbados Museum and Historical Society for the event, held in accordance with the local government’s COVID-19 protocols for safe zones.

The jointly hosted reception provided an opportunity for Canada, the European Union, the United Kingdom and the United States to reaffirm their valued relationship with the people and Government of Barbados, and mark a most historic occasion for the country. As Barbados attains Republic status, Canada, the EU, the UK and the US remain committed partners bound by shared democratic principles, enduring people-to-people ties, and close collaboration at the multilateral level to address urgent global issues such as climate change and the COVID-19 pandemic.

During the formal programme, Prime Minister Mottley delivered warm remarks before joining H.E. President Dame Sandra Mason and the evening’s hosts – High Commissioner Lilian Chatterjee (Canada), Ambassador Malgorzata Wasilewska (EU), High Commissioner Scott Furssedonn-Wood (UK) and Ambassador Linda Taglialatela (US) – for a toast to a new chapter in the island’s nationhood.